Skip to content

Renewable energy expansion

Hint

All our figures are interactive: in the upper-right corner of every figure, you find buttons for zooming in and out. By clicking on a time series in a legend, you can add or hide them from the figure.

Solar PV

For solar PV, the government coalition has specified a capacity expansion target of 215 GW by 2030 in the planned revision of the Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG). According to AGEE-Stat, the installed capacity in Germany in November 2021 was just over 58 GW. To achieve the target, an average of approx. 1.4 GW per month must be added by the end of 2030 (blue dotted line in the diagram, including intermediate targets specified in EEG revision). This is the required net capacity deployment, i.e. also taking into account old plants that will be taken off the grid over time. Over the last years, the expansion was significantly lower than that. If PV capacity additions were to follow the trend of the years 2017-2021, only around 92 GW could be reached by the end of 2030 (orange dashed line). In the last twelve months, the pace of expansion was only slightly higher, so a continuation of this trend would also fall significantly short of the target (red dashed line). To reach the 215 GW target in 2030, the expansion must therefore be more than three times faster than the trend of the last twelve months. After 2030, the PV capacity is set to grow further, reaching 400 GW in 2040.

For comparison, scenarios of the Ariadne project can also be shown in the figure. The PV target of the coaltion for the year 2030 is at the upper end of the corridor of all Ariadne scenarios (here without the model TIMES). The Ariadne lead model for the expansion of renewable energy sources, REMIND, is more or less similar to the coalition target in the Technology Mix Scenario for 2030. After 2030, PV capacity increases further in the Ariadne scenarios. Yet, the 400 GW targeted by the government are only reached in some scenarios, and only after 2040.

Wind energy

Onshore

For onshore wind power, the German government coalition is aiming for an installed capacity of 115 GW in 2030 according to the planned revision of the Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG). In the month of November 2021, the installed capacity in Germany was just under 56 GW, according to AGEE-Stat. To achieve the target, therefore, an average of a good 0.5 GW per month (again net) must be added by the end of 2030. After 2030, the government aims to further expand capacity to 160 GW in 2040.

For comparison, scenarios of the Ariadne project can also be added to the figure. The coalition's targets for the expansion of onshore wind power are roughly in the middle of the corridor formed by all Ariadne scenarios, which is wider than the respective target corridor for photovoltaics. The Ariadne lead model for renewable energy expansion, REMIND, is permanently slightly above the coalition's target in the Technology Mix Scenario in 2030.

According to the coalition agreement, two percent of the land is to be designated for the use of onshore wind energy, although no target year is mentioned. According to the most recent report of the Bund-Länder Kooperationsausschuss, 0.70 per cent of the land was legally designated for onshore wind energy as of 31 December 2020 (lower corridor without double counting, land designated either exclusively at the level of spatial planning or at the level of urban land-use plans). According to a proposed law for increasing and accelerating the expansion of onshore wind energy, the figure was 0.8 percent in 2021 (although only 0.5 percent was actually available). According to the bill, by the end of 2026, an average of 1.4 percent should be reached across all German Länder, and then two percent by the end of 2032. To achieve the target, the current share must therefore be more than doubled.

Offshore

For offshore wind power, the government coalition is aiming for a capacity of at least 30 GW in 2030 as part of the so-called Easter Package. In the month of November 2021, the installed capacity in German waters was 7.8 GW, according to AGEE-Stat. In order to achieve the expansion target, an average of approx. 0.2 GW per month (net) must be added to meet the 2030 target. After that, installed capacity is expected to continue to grow strongly, to at least 40 GW in 2035 and 70 GW in 2045.

For comparison, scenarios of the Ariadne project can also be added to the figure. The coalition's target for the expansion of offshore wind power in 2030 is above the Ariadne scenario corridor. In the Ariadne lead model for the expansion of renewable energy sources, REMIND, the installed capacity is only about half as high as the coalition's target in the Technology Mix Scenario in 2030. The expansion of offshore wind energy in the Ariadne scenarios only picks up speed after 2025. Until 2045, the installed wind power capacity at sea then increases very differently, in the extreme case up to 80 GW in 2045. The targets of the federal government are consistently in the upper range of the Ariadne scenario corridor.

Shares in the power sector

The coalition aims to increase the share of renewable energy in gross electricity consumption to 80 percent by 2030. Statistical data on this indicator are provided by the federal ministry in charge, the BMWK on an annual basis, e.g., here or here. In 2020, the share was 45.1 percent; in 2021, it was only 41.9 percent, although the data are not yet final (*). This decline is likely to be largely caused by significantly lower electricity consumption in 2020 due to the pandemic and a relatively poor wind year in 2021. To reach the 2030 target, the share must grow by more than four percentage points per year on average from 2021 onwards. From 2035 on, the German government aims for an almost climate neutral power sector, according to the planned revision of the Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG). We depict this with a 95 percent share of renewable energy in the graph.

In addition, the shares of renewable energy in net electricity generation can also be shown in the figure (by clicking on the corresponding entry in the legend). These shares are regularly updated by Fraunhofer ISE's energy-charts and are thus available much earlier than the consumption-based indicator mentioned in the coalition agreement. The graph shows the data available at the time of the last update of this website, i.e. the share can still change significantly over the course of the current year due to seasonal effects (*). The shares of renewable energy in net electricity generation and gross electricity consumption differ, among other reasons, because the denominator is lower in the first case due to own consumption of power plants.

For comparison, scenarios of the Ariadne project can also be added to the figure. The coalition's target for the share of renewable energies in 2030 lies within the Ariadne scenario corridor. The Ariadne lead model for renewable energy expansion, REMIND, even exceeds the coalition's target of 80 percent in the Technology Mix Scenario in 2030 with a share of 87 percent. After 2030, the share increases beyond 90 percent in most Ariadne scenarios.

Heat pumps

Heat pumps can be used to harness environmental heat. They play a major role in many future scenarios, especially for space heating. The German government did not mention a target for the expansion of heat pumps in its coalition agreement - the term "heat pump" does not appear a single time in the entire document. However, the Eröffnungsbilanz Klimaschutz of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK) mentions a corridor of "4.1 to 6 million heat pumps" in 2030. This figure is likely to refer to the provision of space heating in individual buildings (excluding large-scale heat pumps in heating networks and high-temperature heat pumps). In the following figure, we define the middle point of this interval as the coalition target and also show the historical development of the Geman heat pump stock. This means around 0.4 Million heat pumps per year have to be added until 2030. The data source until 2020 is EurObserv'ER, the stock of 2021 is estimated (*) with sales figures from BWP.

For comparison, scenarios of the Ariadne project can also be added to the figure. The lead model for heat pumps (REMod) identifies a stock of 5.3 million heat pumps in 2030 (in individual buildings) in the Technology mix scenario, which is roughly in line with the government target. By 2045, this heat pump inventory grows to about 15 million. In addition, the heat pump expansion paths of four other studies can be compared, which together with the Ariadne scenarios have been dubbed the "Big 5" scenarios, namely "Climate Neutral Germany 2045" by Agora Energiewende, "Climate Paths 2.0" (scenario Zielpfad) by BDI, "Towards climate neutrality" (Leitstudie Aufbruch Klimaneutralität, scenario KN100) by Dena, and "Long-term scenarios 3" (scenario TN-Strom) by BMWK. Up to 2045, heat pump additions are particularly high in the BMWK long-term scenarios, and lowest in the Dena lead study.

Shares in the heating sector

The coalition aims for a "very high" share of renewables in the heating sector. Yet, a quantitative target is only provided for "climate neutral" heat in the coalition agreement, which should reach 50 percent of the total heat supply by 2030. As other options, such as imported climate-neutral hydrogen or carbon capture and storage appear to be implausible in the German heating sector by 2030, we interpret the quantiative target in fact as a renewable energy target, slightly deviating from the exact wording of the coalition agreement. In 2021, the share of renewable energy in final German energy consumption for heating and cooling (including district heating consumption) was 16.5 percent, according to data provided by AGEE-Stat. Accordingly, this share has to increase by more almost four percentage points per year until 2030, which is much more than what has been achieved in previous years.


Last update: 2022-08-30

Zum Inhalt

Ausbau erneuerbarer Energie

Hinweis

Alle unsere Abbildungen sind interaktiv: im oberen rechten Bereich jeder Abbildung finden Sie Buttons, mit denen Sie zoomen können. Einzelne Zeitreihen können durch Klicken in der Legende ein- und ausgeblendet werden.

Photovoltaik

Für die Photovoltaik hat sich die Bundesregierung im Rahmen der geplanten Änderung des Erneuerbaren-Energien-Gesetzes (EEG) ein Ausbauziel von 215 GW bis zum Jahr 2030 gesetzt. Ende November 2021 betrug die in Deutschland installierte Leistung nach Angaben der AGEE-Stat gut 58 GW. Zur Erreichung des Ziels müssen bis Ende 2030 somit im Durchschnitt rund 1,4 GW pro Monat zugebaut werden (blau gestrichelte Linie im Diagramm, Zeitverlauf mit Zwischenzielen aus EEG-Entwurf). Dieser Zubau muss netto erfolgen, also unter Berücksichtigung der im Zeitverlauf vom Netz gehenden Altanlagen. Zuletzt war der Ausbau deutlich geringer. Würde der PV-Zubau dem Trend der Jahre 2017-2021 weiter folgen, könnten bis Ende 2030 lediglich knapp 92 GW erreicht werden (orange gestrichelte Linie). In den letzten zwölf Monaten war das Ausbautempo nur leicht höher, auch eine Fortführung dieses Trends würde das Ziel sehr deutlich verfehlen (rot gestrichelte Linie). Zur Erreichung des 215-GW-Ziels im Jahr 2030 muss der Ausbau also mehr als drei mal schneller erfolgen als im Trend der letzten zwölf Monate. Nach dem Jahr 2030 soll die PV-Leistung weiter kontinuierlich wachsen, auf 400 GW im Jahr 2040.

Zum Vergleich können in der Abbildung auch Szenarien des Ariadne-Projekts eingeblendet werden. Das PV-Ziel der Koalition für das Jahr 2030 liegt am oberen Ende des von den Ariadne-Szenarien aufgespannten Korridors (hier ohne das Modell TIMES). Das Ariadne-Leitmodell für den Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien, REMIND, liegt im Technologiemix-Szenario 2030 praktisch auf dem Ziel der der Koalition. Nach 2030 steigt die PV-Leistung in den Ariadne-Szenarien weiter an. Die von der Bundesregierung langfristig angestrebten 400 GW werden allerdings nur in manchem Szenarien und auch erst nach dem Jahr 2040 erreicht.

Windkraft

an Land

Für die Windkraft an Land strebt die Ampel-Koalition laut geplanter Änderung des Erneuerbaren-Energien-Gesetzes (EEG) eine installierte Leistung von 115 GW im Jahr 2030 an. Im Monat November 2021 betrug die in Deutschland installierte Leistung nach Angaben der AGEE-Stat knapp 56 GW. Zur Zielerreichung müssen also bis Ende 2030 im Durchschnitt gut 0,5 GW pro Monat (wiederum netto) zugebaut werden. Nach dem Jahr 2030 strebt die Regierung einen weiteren Ausbau der Kapazität auf 160 GW im Jahr 2040 an.

Zum Vergleich können in der Abbildung auch Szenarien des Ariadne-Projekts eingeblendet werden. Die Ziele der Koalition für den Ausbau der Windkraft an Land liegen ungefähr in der Mitte des von allen Ariadne-Szenarien aufgespannten Korridors, der breiter ist als der Zielkorridor bei der Photovoltaik. Das Ariadne-Leitmodell für den Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien, REMIND, liegt im Technologiemix-Szenario dauerhaft etwas über dem Ziel der Koalition.

Für die Nutzung der Windenergie an Land sollen dem Koalitionsvertrag zufolge "zwei Prozent der Landesflächen ausgewiesen werden", wobei kein Zieljahr genannt wird. Bundesweit waren dem jüngsten Bericht des Bund-Länder-Kooperationsausschusses zufolge zum 31.12.2020 0,70 Prozent der Fläche rechtswirksam für Windenergie an Land ausgewiesen (unterer Korridor ohne Doppelzählungen, Flächenfestlegungen entweder ausschließlich auf Ebene der Raumordnung oder auf Bauleitplanebene). Dem Entwurf des Gesetzes zur Erhöhung und Beschleunigung des Ausbaus von Windenergieanlagen an Land zufolge waren es im Jahr 2021 0,8 Prozent (wobei nur 0,5 Prozent tatsächlich verfügbar seien). Ende des Jahres 2026 sollen demnach im Mittel aller Bundesländer 1,4 Prozent erreicht werden, Ende 2032 dann zwei Prozent. Um das Ziel zu erreichen, muss der heutige Anteil somit mehr als verdoppelt werden.

auf See

Für die Windkraft auf See strebt die Koalition im Rahmen des sogenannten Osterpakets eine Leistung von mindestens 30 GW im Jahr 2030 an. Im Monat November 2021 betrug die in deutschen Gewässern installierte Leistung nach Angaben der AGEE-Stat 7,8 GW. Um das Ausbauziel zu erreichen, müssen bis 2030 im Durchschnitt ca. 0,2 GW pro Monat (netto) zugebaut werden. Danach soll die installierte Leistung weiter stark wachsen, auf mindestens 40 GW im Jahr 2035 und 70 GW im Jahr 2045.

Zum Vergleich können in der Abbildung auch Szenarien des Ariadne-Projekts eingeblendet werden. Das Ziel der Koalition für den Ausbau der Windkraft auf See im Jahr 2030 liegt über dem von allen Ariadne-Szenarien aufgespannten Korridor. Das Ariadne-Leitmodell für den Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien, REMIND, liegt im Technologiemix-Szenario 2030 nur gut halb so hoch wie das Ziel der der Koalition. Der Ausbau der Windenergie auf See nimmt in den Ariadne-Szenarien erst nach 2025 Fahrt auf. Bis 2045 steigt die auf See installierte Windkraftleistung dann sehr unterschiedlich an, im Extremfall auf bis zu 80 GW im Jahr 2045. Die Ziele der Bundesregierung liegen durchgängig im oberen Bereich des Ariadne-Szenarienkorridors.

Anteile im Stromsektor

Die Regierungskoalition strebt an, den Anteil erneuerbarer Energien am Bruttostrombedarf (bzw. Bruttostromverbrauch, BSV) bis zum Jahr 2030 auf 80 Prozent zu steigern. Statistische Daten zu diesem Indikator werden vom BMWK grundsätzlich jährlich bereit gestellt, z.B. hier oder hier. Im Jahr 2020 betrug der Anteil 45,1 Prozent, im Jahr 2021 waren es nur noch 41,9 Prozent, wobei diese Angaben noch nicht endgültig sind (*). Dieser Rückgang dürfte weitgehend durch den im Jahr 2020 pandemiebedingt deutlich niedrigeren Stromverbrauch und durch ein relativ schlechtes Windjahr 2021 bedingt sein. Zur Erreichung des 2030-Ziels muss der Anteil ab 2021 im Durchschnitt um über vier Prozentpunkte pro Jahr wachsen. Ab 2035 soll laut der geplanten Änderung des Erneuerbaren-Energien-Gesetzes (EEG) "die Stromerzeugung im Bundesgebiet nahezu treibhausgasneutral erfolgen", was wir in der Abbildung mit einem Anteil erneuerbarer Energien von 95 Prozent gleichsetzen.

Ergänzend können in der Abbildung auch die Anteile erneuerbarer Energien an der Nettostromerzeugung (NSE) dargestellt werden (durch Klick auf den entsprechenden Eintrag in der Legende). Sie werden im Rahmen der energy-charts des Fraunhofer ISE regelmäßig aktualisiert und liegen somit sehr viel früher vor als der im Koalitionsvertrag genannte Indikator. Die Abbildung zeigt die vorläufigen Daten, die zum Zeitpunkt der letzten Aktualisierung dieser Webseite verfügbar waren, d.h. im Lauf des Jahres kann sich der Anteil aufgrund saisonaler Effekte noch deutlich verändern (*). Die Anteile erneuerbarer Energien an der NSE und am BSV unterscheiden sich unter anderem deshalb, da der Nenner im ersten Fall aufgrund des Kraftwerkseigenverbrauchs geringer ist.

Zum Vergleich können in der Abbildung auch Szenarien des Ariadne-Projekts eingeblendet werden. Das Ziel der Koalition für den Anteil der erneuerbaren Energien im Jahr 2030 liegt in dem von allen Ariadne-Szenarien aufgespannten Korridor. Das Ariadne-Leitmodell für den Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien, REMIND, liegt im Technologiemix-Szenario 2030 mit 87 Prozent sogar über dem Ziel der Koalition von 80 Prozent. Nach 2030 steigt der Anteil in den meisten Ariadne-Szenarien auf über 90 Prozent an.

Wärmepumpen

Mit Wärmepumpen kann Umweltwärme nutzbar gemacht werden. Dies spielt in vielen Zukunftsszenarien insbesondere für den Raumwärmebereich eine große Rolle. Die Regierung hat in ihrem Koalitionsvertrag kein Ziel für den Ausbau von Wärmepumpen genannt - der Begriff "Wärmepumpe" wird im gesamten Dokument kein einziges mal verwendet. In der Eröffnungsbilanz Klimaschutz des BMWK wird jedoch ein Korridor von "4,1 bis 6 Millionen Wärmepumpen" im Jahr 2030 genannt, wobei diese Zahl sich auf die Bereitstellung von Raumwärme in Einzelgebäuden beziehen dürfte (ohne Großwärmepumpen in Wärmenetzen und ohne Hochtemperaturwärmepumpen). Wir stellen in der folgenden Abbildung die Mitte dieses Korridors als Ampel-Ziel dar und zeigen zudem die historische Entwicklung des Bestands. Bis 2030 müssen somit jährlich rund 0,4 Millionen Wärmepumpen zugebaut werden. Als Datenquelle bis 2020 dient EurObserv'ER, der Bestand des Jahres 2021 ist abgeschätzt (*) mit Absatzzahlen des BWP.

Zum Vergleich können in der Abbildung auch Szenarien des Ariadne-Projekts eingeblendet werden. Das Leitmodell für Wärmepumpen, REMod, ermittelt im Technologiemix-Szenario einen Bestand von 5,3 Million Wärmepumpen im Jahr 2030 (in Einzelgebäuden), was ungefähr dem Regierungsziel entspricht. Bis 2045 wächst dieser Wärmepumpen-Bestand auf rund 15 Millionen an. Außerdem können die Wärmepumpen-Ausbaupfade vier weiterer Studien verglichen werden, die gemeinsam mit den Ariadne-Szenarien als "Big 5"-Szenarien bezeichnet wurden, nämlich "Klimaneutrales Deutschland 2045" von Agora Energiewende, "Klimapfade 2.0" (Zielpfad) des BDI, "Leitstudie Aufbruch Klimaneutralität" (Szenario KN100) der Dena, sowie die "Langfristszenarien 3" (Szenario TN-Strom) des BMWK. Bis 2045 ist der Wärmepumpen-Zubau in den BMWK-Langfristszenarien besonders hoch, in der Dena-Leitstudie ist er am niedrigsten.

Anteile im Wärmebereich

Die Koalition strebt "einen sehr hohen Anteil Erneuerbarer Energien bei der Wärme" an. Als quantiatives Ziel für 2030 enthält der Koalitionsvertrag jedoch kein explizites Ziel für erneuerbare Energien, sondern die Formulierung, dass bis zum Jahr 2030 50 Prozent der Wärme "klimaneutral" erzeugt werden müssen. Da andere Optionen wie importierter klimaneutraler Wasserstoff oder CO2-Abscheidung im Wärmebereich bis 2030 jedoch eher unrealistisch erscheinen, interpretieren wir das genannte Ziel hier daher leicht abweichend vom Wortlaut als Erneuerbare-Energien-Ziel. Im Jahr 2021 betrug der Anteil der erneuerbaren Energien am Endenergieverbrauch für Wärme und Kälte (einschließlich Fernwärmeverbrauch) den Daten der AGEE-Stat zufolge 16,5 Prozent. Bis 2030 muss dieser Anteil demnach jährlich um fast vier Prozentpunkte steigen und damit sehr viel stärker als in den vergangenen Jahren.


Letztes Update: 2022-08-30