Skip to content

Greenhouse gas emissions

Hint

All our figures are interactive: in the upper-right corner of every figure, you find buttons for zooming in and out. By clicking on a time series in a legend, you can add or hide them from the figure.

Sectoral greenhouse gas emissions

The government coalition has repeatedly committed itself to the goal of climate neutrality in 2045. In the short and medium term, however, it has not set any new targets for the reduction of greenhouse gases. Sectoral emission reduction targets are already set by 2030 under the Federal Climate Protection Act, which was last amended on August 18, 2021. Thereafter, the law sets annual greenhouse gas emissions targets without sectoral resolution through 2040, with net greenhouse gas neutrality to be achieved by 2045. The figure shows sectoral emissions since 1990 and medium- and longer-term targets, based on data from the German Federal Environment Agency (UBA). In 2020, greenhouse gas emissions were more than 40 percent below those of the 1990 reference year, thus achieving a longer-term climate policy goal. However, the significant pandemic-related reduction in economic activity in 2020 contributed significantly to this. The strong emissions reductions in 2020 also shape the trend for 2017-2021 shown in the figure. Emissions were rising again in 2021 as the economy recovered.

CO2 emissions of electricity generation

There is no explicit target set by the German government for the CO2 emissions of electricity generation. The draft of the EEG 2023 contained a target of "almost complete greenhouse gas neutrality" of electricity generation by 2035; however, this wording is not included in the final Bundestag resolution. Previously, at the G7 summit in Elmau, it was already decided to "fully or predominantly decarbonize" the power sector by 2035. The figure therefore shows an indicative target value of zero CO2 emissions in 2035.

The absolute CO2 emissions (in million metric tons) and CO2 emissions intensity (in g/kWh) of Germany's electricity generation are calculated annually by the German Federal Environment Agency (UBA). The absolute emissions in 2020 were about 52 percent of the emissions in 1990, and the emissions intensity was about 49 percent (excluding upstream chain emissions). However, these values were also particularly low due to the pandemic, and emissions rose again in 2021 (to about 60 percent of 1990 emissions, or 55 percent of emissions intensity).


Last update: 2022-08-30

Zum Inhalt

Treibhausgasemissionen

Hinweis

Alle unsere Abbildungen sind interaktiv: im oberen rechten Bereich jeder Abbildung finden Sie Buttons, mit denen Sie zoomen können. Einzelne Zeitreihen können durch Klicken in der Legende ein- und ausgeblendet werden.

Sektorale Treibhausgasemissionen

Die Ampelkoalition hat sich mehrfach zum Ziel der Klimaneutralität im Jahr 2045 bekannt. Kurz- und mittelfristig hat sie sich aber keine neuen Ziele für die Minderung von Treibhausgasen gesetzt. Die sektoralen Emissionsminderungsziele sind bis zum Jahr 2030 bereits durch das zuletzt am 18. August 2021 geänderte Bundes-Klimaschutzgesetz vorgegeben. Danach legt das Gesetz bis zum Jahr 2040 die jährlichen Ziele für Treibhausgasemissionen ohne sektorale Auflösung fest; bis 2045 soll dann Netto-Treibhausgasneutralität erreicht werden. Die Abbildung zeigt die sektoralen Emissionen seit 1990 und die mittel- und längerfristigen Ziele, basierend auf Daten des Umweltbundesamts. Im Jahr 2020 lagen die Treibhausgasemissionen mehr als 40 Prozent unter denen des Referenzjahres 1990, womit ein längerfristiges klimapolitisches Ziel erreicht wurde. Hierzu trug allerdings die deutliche pandemiebedingte Verminderung der wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten im Jahr 2020 erheblich bei. Die starken Emissionsminderungen des Jahres 2020 prägen auch den in der Abbildung ausgewiesenen Trend der Jahre 2017-2021. Im Zuge der wirtschaftlichen Erholung stiegen die Emissionen im Jahr 2021 wieder an.

CO2-Emissionen der Stromerzeugung

Für die CO2-Emissionen der Stromerzeugung gibt es kein explizites Ziel der Bundesregierung. Im Entwurf des EEG 2023 war von einer "nahezu vollständigen Treibhausgasneutralität" der Stromerzeugung bis zum Jahr 2035 die Rede; diese Formulierung ist im finalen Bundestagsbeschluss allerdings nicht enthalten. Zuvor wurde auf dem G7-Gipfel in Elmau bereits beschlossen, den Stromsektor bis 2035 "vollständig oder überwiegend zu dekarbonisieren". In der Abbildung ist daher ein indikativer Zielwert von Null CO2-Emissionen im Jahr 2035 dargestellt.

Die absoluten CO2-Emissionen (in Millionen Tonnen) sowie die CO2-Emissionsintensität (in g/kWh) der deutschen Stromerzeugung werden jährlich vom Umweltbundesamt berechnet. Die absoluten Emissionen im Jahr 2020 betrugen rund 52 Prozent der Emissionen des Jahres 1990, bei der Emissionsintensität waren es rund 49 Prozent (ohne Vorketten-Emissionen). Allerdings waren auch diese Werte pandemiebedingt besonders niedrig, und die Emissionen stiegen im Jahr 2021 wieder an (auf rund 60 Prozent der Emissionen des Jahres 1990, bzw. 55 Prozent der Emissionsintensität).


Letztes Update: 2022-08-30