Skip to content

Electric Mobility

Hint

All our figures are interactive: in the upper-right corner of every figure, you find buttons for zooming in and out. By clicking on a time series in a legend, you can add or hide them from the figure.

Road transport

Battery electric passenger cars

The government coalition has set a target of at least 15 million fully electric passenger cars by 2030, which we equate here with purely battery electric vehicles. At the end of November 2021, there were around 0.59 million such passenger cars in Germany, according to the Kraftfahrt-Bundesamt. To achieve the target, an average of 0.13 million vehicles per month must be added by 2030. Such a linear progression is shown in the figure, but it is purely illustrative. In reality, a logistic pathway is more likely. Based on a study by Fraunhofer ISI, a logistic path can be derived that will achieve exactly 15 million electric cars in 2030 (thanks to Patrick Plötz and colleagues). According to this, the current development of the vehicle stock is only slightly below the target path.

For comparison, scenarios of the Ariadne project can also be shown in the figure. The coalition's target of 15 million fully electric passenger cars in the year 2030 lies within the corridor provided by all Ariadne scenarios. The Ariadne lead model for mobility, VECTOR21, is only slightly below the coalition's target in the Technology Mix Scenario. By 2045, the fleet grows to nearly 42 million electric vehicles in the lead model. It should be noted that the Ariadne scenarios also include some plug-in hybrid electric vehicles, and not only fully electric ones as formulated in the coalition target.

In addition, the following figure shows the shares of purely battery-electric cars and plug-in hybrids in new car registrations per month. Although the coalition has not formulated a specific target for this, this indicator illustrates the dynamics of what is happening better than the stock indicator shown above.

Charging infrastructure

The traffic light coalition has set a target of one million publicly and non-discriminatorily accessible charging points by 2030, with a focus on fast charging infrastructure. As of 1 December 2021, according to Bundesnetzagentur, nearly 54,000 charging points were in operation, of which around 46,000 were normal charging points and 8000 were fast charging points. To achieve the target, an average of around 8,700 new charging points must go into operation every month until 2030. The graph shows a corresponding linear path. In addition, a logistic path is available that follows the course of the logistic stock development of the battery-electric passenger car fleet shown above.

The following figure shows the ratio of battery-electric cars and publicly accessible charging points. The government has not formulated an explicit target for this. The fleet and charging infrastructure targets for 2030 imply a ratio of 15 battery electric cars per charging point, although the breakdown between fast and normal charging points is unclear. Recently, the number of electric vehicles sharing a publicly accessible fast charging point has increased significantly.

Rail transport

Electrification of the network

The government coalition plans to electrify 75 percent of the German rail network by 2030. According to Deutsche Bahn AG, 61.7% of the federally owned rail network was electrified in 2020. To achieve the target, the share must increase by an average of almost 1.5 percentage points per year until 2030.


Last update: 2022-08-30

Zum Inhalt

Elektromobilität

Hinweis

Alle unsere Abbildungen sind interaktiv: im oberen rechten Bereich jeder Abbildung finden Sie Buttons, mit denen Sie zoomen können. Einzelne Zeitreihen können durch Klicken in der Legende ein- und ausgeblendet werden.

Straßenverkehr

Batterieelektrische Pkw

Die Regierungskoalition hat sich ein Ziel von "mindestens 15 Millionen vollelektrische(n) Pkw bis 2030" gesetzt, was wir hier mit rein batterieelektrischen Fahrzeugen gleichsetzen. Ende November 2021 gab es laut Kraftfahrt-Bundesamt rund 0,59 Millionen solcher Pkw in Deutschland. Zur Erreichung des Ziels müssen bis zum Jahr 2030 im Durchschnitt 0,13 Millionen Fahrzeuge pro Monat hinzu kommen. Ein solcher linearer Verlauf ist in der Abbildung dargestellt, hat aber rein illustrativen Charakter. In Wirklichkeit ist eher mit einem logistischen Verlauf zu rechnen. Auf Basis einer Studie des Fraunhofer ISI lässt sich ein logistischer Pfad ableiten, mit dem genau 15 Millionen Elektro-Pkw im Jahr 2030 erreicht werden (Dank an Patrick Plötz und Kollegen). Demnach liegt die aktuelle Bestandsentwicklung nur leicht unter dem Zielpfad.

Zum Vergleich können in der Abbildung auch Szenarien des Ariadne-Projekts eingeblendet werden. Das Ziel der Koalition für vollelektrische Pkw im Jahr 2030 liegt mitten in dem von allen Ariadne-Szenarien aufgespannten Korridor. Das Ariadne-Leitmodell für Mobilität, VECTOR21, liegt im Technologiemix-Szenario nur knapp unter dem Ziel der Koalition. Bis zum Jahr 2045 wächst die Flotte im Leitmodell auf knapp 42 Millionen Fahrzeuge an. Zu beachten ist hier jedoch, dass die gezeigten Ariadne-Szenarien auch einen kleineren Anteil Plug-in-Hybridfahrzeuge beinhalten, also nicht nur vollelektrische Fahrzeuge wie beim formulierten Koalitionsziel.

Ergänzend zeigen wir in der folgenden Abbildung die Anteile von rein batterieelektrischen Pkw sowie von Plug-in-Hybriden an den monatlichen Neuzulassungen. Hierfür hat die Ampel-Koalition zwar kein spezifischen Ziel formuliert; dieser Indikator verdeutlicht die Dynamik des Geschehens jedoch besser als der oben gezeigte Bestandsindikator.

Ladeinfrastruktur

Die Ampel hat sich ein Ziel von "einer Million öffentlich und diskriminierungsfrei zugänglichen Ladepunkten bis 2030 mit Schwerpunkt auf Schnellladeinfrastruktur" gesetzt. Am 1. Dezember 2021 waren laut Bundesnetzagentur knapp 54.000 Ladepunkte in Betrieb, davon ca. 46.000 Normalladepunkte und 8000 Schnellladepunkte. Zur Erreichung des Ziels müssen bis 2030 im Durchschnitt monatlich rund 8700 neue Ladepunkte in Betrieb gehen. In der Abbildung ist ein entsprechender linearer Verlauf dargestellt. Außerdem ist ein logistischer Pfad hinterlegt, der dem Verlauf der oben dargestellten logitischen Bestandsentwicklung der batterieelektrischen Pkw-Flotte folgt.

Die folgende Abbildung zeigt das Verhältnis von batterieelektrischen Pkw und öffentlich zugänglichen Ladepunkten. Hierfür hat die Regierung kein explizites Ziel formuliert. Aus den Bestands- und Ladeinfrastrukturzielen für 2030 ergibt sich ein Wert von 15 batterieelektrischen Pkw pro Ladepunkt, wobei die Aufteilung auf Schnell- und Normalladepunkte unklar ist. Zuletzt ist die vor allem die Zahl der Elektrofahrzeuge, die sich rechnerisch einen öffentlich zugänglichen Schnellladepunkt teilen, deutlich angestiegen.

Schienenverkehr

Elektrifizierung des Netzes

Die Ampelkoalition plant, bis zum Jahr 2030 75 Prozent des deutschen Schienennetzes zu elektrifizieren. Nach Angaben der Deutsche Bahn AG waren im Jahr 2021 61,7% des bundeseigenen Schienennetzes elektrifiziert. Zur Erreichung des Ziel muss der Anteil bis 2030 im Durchschnitt um knapp 1,5 Prozentpunkte pro Jahr steigen.


Letztes Update: 2022-08-30