Skip to content

Hydrogen

Hint

All our figures are interactive: in the upper-right corner of every figure, you find buttons for zooming in and out. By clicking on a time series in a legend, you can add or hide them from the figure.

The coalition agreement mentions an electrolysis capacity of around 10 gigawatts in 2030 as a target. According to the IEA Hydrogen Projects Database, electrolysers with an electrical capacity of 61 megawatts were in operation in Germany at the beginning of October 2021. According to this, an average of about 90 megawatts per month must be added by the end of 2030. As in the case of battery-electric vehicles, the linear progression shown here is purely illustrative; in reality, we rather expect the capacity expansion to follow a logistic curve.

For comparison, scenarios of the Ariadne project can also be added to the figuree. The coalition's electrolysis target for 2030 is at the upper end of the corridor provided by all Ariadne scenarios. The Ariadne lead model for electrolysis capacity expansion, REMIND, is substantially below the coalition's target in the Technology Mix Scenario in 2030. After 2035, the Ariadne scenario corridor becomes very wide, with the lead model always at the lower end of the corridor. These model results reflect a relatively high uncertainty about the longer-term prospects of domestic green hydrogen production in Germany.


Last update: 2022-08-30

Zum Inhalt

Wasserstoff

Hinweis

Alle unsere Abbildungen sind interaktiv: im oberen rechten Bereich jeder Abbildung finden Sie Buttons, mit denen Sie zoomen können. Einzelne Zeitreihen können durch Klicken in der Legende ein- und ausgeblendet werden.

Im Koalitionsvertrag wird "eine Elektrolysekapazität von rund 10 Gigawatt im Jahr 2030" als Ziel genannt. Laut IEA Hydrogen Projects Database waren Anfang Oktober 2021 in Deutschland Elektrolyseure mit einer elektrischen Leistung von 61 Megawatt in Betrieb. Demnach müssen bis Ende 2030 im Durchschnitt etwa 90 Megawatt pro Monat zugebaut werden. Wie bereits im Fall der batterielektrischen Fahrzeuge ist der hier dargestellte lineare Verlauf rein illustrativ. In Wirklichkeit erwarten wir eher einen S-Kurven-förmigen Ausbaupfad.

Zum Vergleich können in der Abbildung auch Szenarien des Ariadne-Projekts eingeblendet werden. Das Elektrolyse-Ziel der Koalition für das Jahr 2030 liegt am oberen Ende des von allen Ariadne-Szenarien aufgespannten Korridors. Das Ariadne-Leitmodell für den Elektrolyse-Zubau, REMIND, liegt im Technologiemix-Szenario 2030 deutlich unter dem Ziel der Koalition. Nach 2035 spannen die Ariadne-Szenarien einen sehr breiten Korridor auf, wobei das Leitmodell dauerhaft im unteren Bereich des Korridors liegt. Grundsätzlich spiegeln die Modellergebnisse eine relativ große Unsicherheit über die längerfristige heimische Produktion von grünem Wasserstoff wider.


Letztes Update: 2022-08-30